h1

New venture – Alloa Art Club

September 25, 2010

With Stirling Art club currently having a lengthy waiting list, I’ve decided to seize the opportunity of setting up a club for Alloa and the surrounding area.

Alloa Art Club is in the very early planning stages but I am hoping we can set up a friendly and relaxed local group who meet on a regular basis to share ideas, advice and information on all aspects of fine art.  Depending on what members would like from the club, we could also look at arranging events such as demonstrations from professional artists, group outings to exhibitions or an annual exhibition of members work.

If this appeals to you, I’d love to hear from you.  Please contact me at julie@juliebroom.com to register your interest.

9 comments

  1. Good luck with the group !


    • Thanks, it’s rather exciting!


  2. Hi Julie,
    Well done you, going ahead with an Alloa Art Club. I’d have loved this 10 years ago too!
    Put my name down for it. (I passed the sign up sheet you had at art class on Thurs. as I was engrossed at the time and then forgot to sign it later!) Thanks for your courage in stepping out.
    God Bless you.


    • Great to have you on board Maggie. There seems to be quite a lot of interest – I’ll keep you posted.


  3. I am interested in joining but live in Falkirk


  4. We run the Alloa Community Arts Centre on the top floor of the Alloa Town Hall and your proposed club sounds exactly like what we are about – we meet on Mondays and Wednesdays every week (most members come on Wednesdays)and is an informal group enjoying helping each other in several mediums. Why dont you pop in sometime and see our workshops?
    Regards.
    Sylvia Brownlie
    Treasurer


    • Hi Sylvia, thanks very much for getting in touch. I have heard good things about Alloa Community Arts. However, my understanding is that your group meet afternoons? Unfortunately, I work 9-5 so one of my main motivations for the new group was to cater for those who work full time. Wishing you continued success with your group.


  5. Hi
    I am rather new to the art scene but am very much enjoying becoming involved and have always had a keen interest in all things arty. I live in Tullibody and would be very interested in joining such a local group. I heard about it from Maggie Bowie as we attend the same class with Liz Allan on a Wednesday afternoon.
    Please add my contact details to any email list. Good luck!


    • Hi Margaret, thanks for getting in touch. I’ve taken your details and will be in touch with an update on our plans shortly.



Leave a Reply

