h1

Forth Valley Open Studios

February 20, 2010
I’d like to share some exciting local art news:  There is going to be an Open Studios Event in the Forth Valley Area, based on the extremely successful models used elsewhere in Scotland. To fit round existing well established art festivals including open studios events in other areas, the Forth Valley Open Studios event will take place from 12 – 20 June this year.
Unfortunately, I can’t open my own studio to the public.  Firstly it’s in my house and also serves as a dining room, fitness room and cat’s play area.  Secondly, at the times people would wish to visit I’m more likely to be sitting in an office programming than enjoying myself painting in my studio.  
The good news is that The Gallery in Alloa have come to the rescue by offering space to artists unable to open their own studios.  Watch this space as I’ll be providing further details as they become available.
3 comments

  1. Ah yes, I know what you mean. I’ve moved my studio to the back room, and am now converting our lounge into a gallery. Please excuse the fishing pole cat toy though!

    Home studios are my favourite though. A portrait painter friend of mine quit her rented outside studio to set up one in the front bedroom of her new home, where she says she is sooo much more productive. As long as she doesn’t answer the phone or open the door!

    Cats are Muses in a furry coat!


    • Thanks for stopping by, and taking the time to comment. I do love the convenience of being able to step into my studio anytime, even if I do trip over the odd catnip mouse on my way in. I loved your comment about cats being muses in a furry coat, so true. 🙂


  2. If only more people could read this..



Leave a Reply

