h1

My Making a Mark Nominations

December 21, 2009

 The nomination process is underway for the Making A Mark Awards 2009 for blogging about art.  I can’t wait to see who the winners are!  In the meantime, I thought sharing my nominations would be a great way to summarise some of the blogs and artwork I have enjoyed most this year. 

The FAQ and answers really useful medal:

Vivien Blackburn Paintings, Prints and Stuff

This blog has been a real treasure trove of information, ideas and inspiration for me during 2009. Vivien’s posts often preempt my questions with clear explanations of her creative processes and techniques. The student demos she shares and challenges she sets are also extremely helpful learning aids.

The really made me think gong:

Lynne Chapman An Illustrator’s Life for Me!

During this year Lynne took us on a fantastic journey as she created the artwork for ‘The bears on the stairs’. Her posts gave a wonderful insight into the trial and triumphs of an illustrator’s working life and certainly gave me plenty to think about.

Best art on a blog (place):

Sarah Wimperis Helford Regatta

Helford Regatta by Sarah Wimperis (watercolour) 2009

I don’t recall ever seeing the drama and excitement of fireworks depicted so beautifully. The painting just bursts with energy; the expert use of contrast and colour makes this work truly dazzling.

Best art on a blog (portrait):

Maria Pace-Wynters Joy

Joy by Maria Pace-Wynters (mixed media) 2009

For me this image just sings with colour, life and happiness. In my opinion this work showcases the vibrance and liveliness of Maria’s exquisite mixed media technique.

Best art on a blog (stilllife):

Sally Tharp Sometimes I feel like you look right through me

Sometimes I feel like you look right through me by Sally Tharp (oil) 2009

For me this piece is much more than a representation of a group of objects, it conveys such a strong sense of place and mood. The composition works beautifully – the eye drifts effortlessly across the canvas before a sense of curiosity develops and the viewer tries to see through the objects. The objects themselves are brilliantly rendered.

7 comments

  1. Julie thank you so much for nominating me and the kind words :>) I’m really happy if what I write/show helps anyone.

    Your other nominations are great – Sarah I know and totally agree, Lynn’s illustrations are gorgeous and both blogs inspirational.

    The other 2 are new to me and I’m off to take a look as the examples you show are great – so thank you again for nomination and introducing a couple of interesting people to my attention :>)

    Hope you have a fabulous Christmas

    :>) Vivien


    • It was a real pleasure to make my nominations, Vivien 🙂 Hope you’ve had a lovely Christmas.


  2. Well you’ve nominated two of the artists shortlisted for best picture so you’re doing well so far! 🙂

    Keep an eye on http://www.makingamark.co.uk/makingamark-awards.html for the full listing on one page of all the nominations and how your’s are doing


    • Thanks Katherine, I was thrilled two of my nominations got shortlisted. I’ll be watching how they are doing with great interest 🙂


  3. The Part 1 post about the rest of the awards will be posted later today!


    • can’t wait!


  4. […] category.  You can see Sally’s own post regarding the award here.  For those who missed my original post, here is a little reminder of why Sally was such a worthy winner: Sometimes I feel like you look […]



Leave a Reply

