h1

Little feet

June 13, 2009

I was so excited after my visit to the Art shop that I’ve already had a play with some of my new toys.  Being a newcomer to the delights of coloured pencil, it could have been a lot worse.

What a difference using proper artists pencils makes – you can layer them like pastel and get a great range of tonal variation.  Derwent Coloursoft are lovely  – they glide on the paper and have a soft, velvety texture.  Absolutely nothing like the faint, scratchy coloured pencils I remember from my youth.

Ok, so the drawing itself is a bit overworked in parts, I haven’t got the blending thing sussed and I realised a little too late that it’s very difficult to lighten something if you make it too dark.  Nevermind, I’m sure it’ll get easier.

007

2 comments

  1. Yes, very good stuff. Worth the one-and-a-half hour wait while you mixed and picked!


  2. an hour and a half? is that all?



Leave a Reply

